Education Image

Realness Institute

Realness Institute
: South Africa
: Cape Town
: Cape Town


Elias Ribeiro Executive Director
Mehret Mandefro Director of Development & Partnerships


Cait Pansegrouw Director of Artistic Operations
Andrea Voges Programme Manager


Alumni Country Programme
Amirah Tadjin Kenya/Dubai Screenwriters' Residency 2016
Hiwot Ademasu Ethiopia Screenwriters' Residency 2016
Luck Razanajaona Madagascar Screenwriters' Residency 2016
Sheetal Meegan South Africa Screenwriters' Residency 2016
Wim Steytler South Africa Screenwriters' Residency 2016
Fradique Angola Screenwriters' Residency 2017
Gloria Huwiler Zambia Screenwriters' Residency 2017
Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese Lesotho Screenwriters' Residency 2017
Rama Thiaw Senegal Screenwriters' Residency 2017
Samantha Nell South Africa Screenwriters' Residency 2017
Kantarama Gahigiri Rwanda Screenwriters' Residency 2018
Matthys Boshoff South Africa Screenwriters' Residency 2018
Mohamed Siam Egypt Screenwriters' Residency 2018
Ng'endo Muki Kenya Screenwriters' Residency 2018
Reem Morsi Egypt Screenwriters' Residency 2018
Athi Patra-Ruga South Africa Screenwriters' Residency 2019
Beza Haillu Lemma Ethiopia Screenwriters' Residency 2019
Fanyana Hlabangane South Africa Screenwriters' Residency 2019
Firoza Houssein Madagascar Screenwriters' Residency 2019
Iman Djionne Senegal Screenwriters' Residency 2019
Silas Miami Kenya Screenwriters' Residency 2019
Abraham Gezahagne Ethiopia Screenwriters' Residency 2020
Hajooj kuka Sudan Screenwriters' Residency 2020
Leslie To Burkina Faso Screenwriters' Residency 2020
Palesa Shongwe South Africa Screenwriters' Residency 2020
Rene van Rooyen South Africa Screenwriters' Residency 2020
Rim Mejdi Morocco Screenwriters' Residency 2020
Thati Peele South Africa Screenwriters' Residency 2020
Yared Zeleke Ethiopia Screenwriters' Residency 2020
Melissa Adeyemo US/Nigeria Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Oluwaseun (Seun) Babalola US/Sierre Leone Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Carol Kioko Kenya Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Flavia Motsisi South Africa Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Frank Hoeve Netherlands Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Wafa Tajdin Kenya Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Thomas Kaske Germany Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Lara Sousa Mozambique Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Maia Lekow Kenya Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Israel Mehari Ethiopia Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Lesedi Oluko Moche SA/Uganda Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Chioma Onyenwe Nigeria Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Yolanda Ncokotwana South Africa Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Souleymane Kebe Senegal Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Thomas Hakim France Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Toni Kamau Kenya Creative Producer's Indaba 2020
Dina Emam Egypt Creative Producer's Indaba 2020


Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese (alumni from the Screenwriters’ Residency 2017) won the following awards with his film, This is Not a Burial, It’s a Resurrection.
- The first Mosotho film to be longlisted for an award in the Foreign Language Film category of the 78th Golden Globes.
- The first film from Lesotho, made by a Mosotho filmmaker, to screen at an international festival. The film was viewed by critics as one of the best 2020’s Sundance Film Festival, where it premiered in January. It won the World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award for Visionary Filmmaking at Sundance
- The film was Lesotho’s first-ever official Oscar submission and began its Oscar-qualifying run on 27 November 2021 in Cape Town and Johannesburg, and screened until 4 December, in line with the rules for the 93rd Academy Awards.
- The film won 4 Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAAs), including Best Director, Best Actress (Mary Twala), Best Cinematography, Best Costume Design.
Other international festival awards include:
Portland International Film Festival (PIFF), Oregon, USA
- Jury Award for most exciting new voice in international cinema
MOOOV Film Festival (Belgium)
- Best Film
Taipei Film Festival
- Grand Prize for Best International New Talent in Taiwan
Hong Kong International Film Festival
- Firebird Award for Best Film (Young Cinema Competition)
- Firebird Award for Best Actress (Young Cinema Competition)
- FIPRESCI Prize for Young Talent
Santiago International Film Festival, Chile
- Best Director
- Special Mention for Acting (Mary Twala Mhlongo)
Durban International Film Festival, South Africa
- Best Director
- Best Actress (Mary Twala Mhlongo)
- Artistic Bravery
Athens International Film Festival, Greece
- Golden Athena (top festival prize)
- Europa Film Festivals Award
Reykjavík International Film Festival, Iceland
- Golden Puffin for the Discovery of The Year
Haifa International Film Festival, Israel
- Carmel Competition Winner for Best International Film
CinemAfrica, Sweden
- Best Narrative Film
Hamptons International Film Festival, New York
- Narrative Competition Winner
Festival du Nouveau Cinema, Montreal, Canada
- Best Interpretation Award for Mary Twala Mhlongo
La Roche-sur-Yon International Film Festival, France
- Nouvelles Vagues Acuitis Award winner for Continued Reinvention of Cinema
Montclair Film Festival, New Jersey, USA
- Jury Prize for Cinematography
Documenta, Madrid
- Special Jury Mention
Karala Film Festival, India
- Suvarna Chakoram Prize for Best Film
- Special Mention for Acting (Mary Twala Mhlongo)
9. Student Awards / Grants
Hiwot Ademasu (Screenwriters’ Residency 2016) won a CNC grant for her project.


Programme Partners
1.Episodic Lab Netflix
2.Development Executive Traineeship Netflix
3.Creative Producer Indaba Eave, IFFR Pro and Sundance
Supported By
National Film and Video Foundation, International
Emerging Film Talent Association, Institut Francais
South Africa, Area 51, Urucu Media, Documentary Africa
4.Southern Africa-Locarno Industry Locarno Film Festival
5.Realness African Scriptwriters Berlinale Talents, CNC, Cocoon, Durban Film
Residency Mart, EAVE, Goethe Institut, IEFTA, Institut
Francais de Afrique du Sud, Locarno Film
Festival, TorinoFilmLab, Toronto International
Film Festival